Researchers


Engineering Team

John W. van de Lindt John W. van de Lindt, Ph.D.
Co-Director
Howard H. Short Endowed Chair
Colorado State University
Email: jwv@engr.colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Multi-hazards; performance-based analysis and design damage/loss modeling; fragility curves and surfaces

Bruce Ellingwood Bruce Ellingwood, Ph.D.
Co-Director
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Bruce.Ellingwood@colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Structural reliability; extreme/abnormal events loads/modeling; probabilistic risk assessment

Paolo Gardoni Paolo Gardoni, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
University of Illinois - Urbana - Champaign
Email: gardoni@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Risk and life cycle analysis; decision making under uncertainty; deteriorating systems

Dan Cox Dan Cox, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Dan.Cox@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Surge, wave and tsunami modeling; coastal fluid/structure interaction

Dorothy Reed Dorothy Reed, Ph.D.
Researcher
Professor
University of Washington
Email: reed@uw.edu
CV/Bio

Expertise: Resilience and interdependent infrastructure systems modeling; wind engineering

Jamie Padgett Jamie Padgett, Ph.D.
Researcher & NIST Liaison
Associate Professor
Rice University
Email: jamie.padgett@rice.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Multi-hazard analysis; bridge engineering; fragility development

Michael Scott Michael Scott, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Michael.Scott@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Open-source programming; earthquake engineering

Bret Webb Bret Webb, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
University of South Alabama
Email: bwebb@southalabama.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Coastal engineering; storm surge and wave modeling; climate change impacts; scour and erosion; vulnerability and risk

Suren Chen Suren Chen, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Colorado State University
Email: schen@rams.colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Transportation/traffic modeling; Infrastructure engineering; bridge fragility development

Hussam Mahmoud Hussam Mahmoud, Ph.D.
Researcher
George T. Abell Professor of Infrastructure and Associate Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Email: Hussam.Mahmoud@colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Fire analysis; tsunami/structure interaction; earthquake engineering; fragility development

Amy B. Cerato Amy B. Cerato, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: acerato@ou.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Soil-structure interaction; espansive soil mitigation; pipeline pressure due to soil

Eun Cha Eun Cha, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
Email: ejcha@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Risk analysis; risk aversion and risk informed decision modeling; stochastic modeling

Charles Nicholson Charles Nicholson, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: cnicholson@ou.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Meta-heuristic and evolutionary search, network flows, applications of data mining

Andre Barbosa Andre Barbosa, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Andre.Barbosa@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Performance-based earthquake engineering; reliability analysis; resilient design

Mikhail Gershfeld Mikhail Gershfeld, S.E.
Researcher
Professional Practice Professor
California State Polytechnic University - Pomona
Email: mikhail.gershfeld@gmail.com

Expertise: Earthquake engineering, design, light-frame construction

Elaina J. Sutley Elaina J. Sutley, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Kansas
Email: enjsutley@ku.edu
CV/Bio
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Community resiliency; performance-based seismic design; loss modeling; fragility curves and surfaces; social vulnerability; woodframe structures

Maria Koliou Maria Koliou, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
Texas A&M University
Email: maria.koliou@tamu.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Multi-Hazard Performance-Based Design of Buildings and Non-Building Structures; Engineering Risk Analysis; Post-Disaster System Functionality; Collapse Assessment of Structural Systems; Timber Structures

Gaofeng Jia Gaofeng Jia, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Gaofeng.Jia@colostate.edu
CV/Bio
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Uncertainty quantification and propagation; Stochastic simulation; Risk-informed design and decision making; Aging and deterioration of infrastructure system

Steven French Steven French, Ph.D.
Researcher
Dean and John Portman Chair
Georgia Institute of Technology
Email: steve.french@design.gatech.edu
CV/Bio
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Earthquake and Flood Hazard Analysis and Mitigation; Sustainable Urban Development; Urban Planning and Policy; Urban Big Data

Andres Gonzalez Andres Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: andres.gonzalez@ou.edu
CV/Bio
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Developing and applying analytical tools from systems dynamics; statistical physics, operations research; and civil engineering to study the dynamics associated with social and physical systems

Economics Team

Sammy Zahran Sammy Zahran, Ph.D.
Researcher & NIST Liason
Associate Professor and Co-Director for Center for Disaster and Risk Analysis
Colorado State University
Email: Sammy.Zahran@colostate.edu
CV/Bio

Expertise: Demography; environmental economics; population health; disaster modeling

Harvey Cutler Harvey Cutler, Ph.D.
Researcher & Team Leader
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Harvey.Cutler@ColoState.EDU
CV/Bio

Expertise: Regional economics; computable equilibrium modeling; risk analysis

Martin Shields Martin Shields, Ph.D.
Researcher
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Martin.Shields@ColoState.EDU
CV/Bio

Expertise: Regional economics; labor economics; economic volatility modeling; risk modeling

Daniele Tavani Daniele Tavani, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
Colorado State University

Expertise: Macro-economic modeling; economic growth/income distribution; disaster analysis

Data/Framework Team

Expertise: Web Application and Service development. (OPIETM) for scientific portals.

Shannon Bradley Shannon Bradley
Associate Project Manager
NCSA

Expertise: Project Management, Human Resources, Applied Management

Diego Calderon Diego Calderon
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Experience collaborating with researchers in statistics, regression models, and learning under conditional distributions

Mark Fredricksen Mark Fredricksen
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: System Administration and HPC environments, combined with database and programming experience

Yong Wook Kim Yong Wook Kim
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on Ergo and IN-CORE teams, GIS, Database Management

Jong Sung Lee Jong Sung Lee, Ph.D.
Researcher
Senior Research Scientist, NCSA
Technical Lead of ERGO MAEviz platform
Email: jonglee1@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: GIS; transportation planning; regional science; data management

Gowtham Naraharisetty Gowtham Naraharisetty
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Software Engineering, Web Application and Service development

Chris Navarro Chris Navarro
Researcher
Senior Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: One of the original MAEviz developers, on which ERGO is now based, an Eclipse Committer Open Source Developer

Michal Ondrejcek Michal Ondrejcek
Researcher
NCSA

Expertise: Material Science, Electron Microscopy and Statistical/Error Analysis

Nathan Tolbert Nathan Tolbert
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on both the MAEviz - Harturk and Ergo teams, IN-CORE developer, Developer for Open Portal Interface Environment (OPIETM) for scientific portals.

Social Sciences Team

Sara Hamideh Sara Hamideh, PhD
Assistant Professor
Community & Regional Planning
Iowa State University
Email: shamideh@iastate.edu
CV/Bio
Walter Peacock Walter Peacock, Ph.D.
Researcher & Team Leader
Professor, Director
Hazard Reduction and Recovery Center
Texas A&M University
Email: wgpeacock@gmail.com
CV/Bio

Urban planning, sustainability and resiliency issues, natural hazard mitigation, long-term disaster recovery

Lori Peek Lori Peek, Ph.D.
Director
Natural Hazards Center
University of Colorado
Email: Lori.Peek@colorado.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Social impacts of disasters; risk communication, vulnerable populations, long term disaster recovery

Nathanael Rosenheim Nathanel Rosenheim, Ph.D.
Associate Research Scientist
Hazard Reduction and Recovery Center
Texas A&M University
Email: nrosenheim@arch.tamu.edu
CV/Bio

Expertise: Urban planning, food security, data management, social impacts of disasters

Jennifer Tobin Jennifer Tobin
Deputy Administrator
Natural Hazards Center
University of Colorado
Email: Jennifer.L.Tobin@colorado.edu
CV/Bio
Shannon Van Zandt Shannon Van Zandt, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Director Center for Housing and Community Development
Texas A&M University
Email: svanzandt@arch.tamu.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Social Impacts of Disaster, Housing and Housing recovery, nexus housing and business resovery

Yu Xiao Yu Xiao, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Nohad A. Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning
Portland State University
Email: yxiao@pdx.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Social Impacts of Disaster, Business recovery and failure, community recovery, and long-term disaster recovery