Researchers


Engineering Team

John W. van de Lindt, Ph.D.
Co-Director
George T. Abell Distinguished Professor in Infrastructure
Colorado State University
Email: jwv@engr.colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Multi-hazards; performance-based analysis and design damage/loss modeling; fragility curves and surfaces

Bruce Ellingwood, Ph.D.
Co-Director
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Bruce.Ellingwood@colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Structural reliability; extreme/abnormal events loads/modeling; probabilistic risk assessment

Paolo Gardoni, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
University of Illinois - Urbana - Champaign
Email: gardoni@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Risk and life cycle analysis; decision making under uncertainty; deteriorating systems

Dan Cox, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Dan.Cox@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Surge, wave and tsunami modeling; coastal fluid/structure interaction

Dorothy Reed, Ph.D.
Researcher
Professor
University of Washington
Email: reed@uw.edu
CV/Bio

Expertise: Resilience and interdependent infrastructure systems modeling; wind engineering

Jamie Padgett, Ph.D.
Researcher & NIST Liaison
Associate Professor
Rice University
Email: jamie.padgett@rice.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Multi-hazard analysis; bridge engineering; fragility development

Michael Scott, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Michael.Scott@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Open-source programming; earthquake engineering

Bret Webb, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
University of South Alabama
Email: bwebb@southalabama.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Coastal engineering; storm surge and wave modeling; climate change impacts; scour and erosion; vulnerability and risk

Suren Chen, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Colorado State University
Email: schen@rams.colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Transportation/traffic modeling; Infrastructure engineering; bridge fragility development

Naiyu Wang, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: naiyu.wang@ou.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Uncertainty modeling; aging infrastructure assessment; risk-informed decisions

Hussam Mahmoud, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor, Director of Structural Laboratory
Colorado State University
Email: Hussam.Mahmoud@colostate.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Fire analysis; tsunami/structure interaction; earthquake engineering; fragility development

Amy B. Cerato, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: acerato@ou.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Soil-structure interaction; espansive soil mitigation; pipeline pressure due to soil

Eun Cha, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
Email: ejcha@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Risk analysis; risk aversion and risk informed decision modeling; stochastic modeling

Charles Nicholson, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Oklahoma
Email: cnicholson@ou.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Meta-heuristic and evolutionary search, network flows, applications of data mining

Andre Barbosa, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
Oregon State University
Email: Andre.Barbosa@oregonstate.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Performance-based earthquake engineering; reliability analysis; resilient design

Mikhail Gershfeld, S.E.
Researcher
Professional Practice Professor
California State Polytechnic University - Pomona
Email: mikhail.gershfeld@gmail.com

Expertise: Earthquake engineering, design, light-frame construction

Elaina J. Sutley, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
University of Kansas
Email: enjsutley@ku.edu
CV/Bio
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Community resiliency; performance-based seismic design; loss modeling; fragility curves and surfaces; social vulnerability; woodframe structures

Economics Team

Sammy Zahran, Ph.D.
Researcher & NIST Liason
Associate Professor and Co-Director for Center for Disaster and Risk Analysis
Colorado State University
Email: Sammy.Zahran@colostate.edu
CV/Bio

Expertise: Demography; environmental economics; population health; disaster modeling

Harvey Cutler, Ph.D.
Researcher & Team Leader
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Harvey.Cutler@ColoState.EDU
CV/Bio

Expertise: Regional economics; computable equilibrium modeling; risk analysis

Martin Shields, Ph.D.
Researcher
Professor
Colorado State University
Email: Martin.Shields@ColoState.EDU
CV/Bio

Expertise: Regional economics; labor economics; economic volatility modeling; risk modeling

Daniele Tavani, Ph.D.
Researcher
Assistant Professor
Colorado State University

Expertise: Macro-economic modeling; economic growth/income distribution; disaster analysis

Data/Framework Team

Shannon Bradley
Associate Project Manager
NCSA

Expertise: Project Management, Human Resources, Applied Management

Omar Elabd
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on Ergo and IN-CORE teams. Cloud based computing, Database management and Web Computing. Recipient of the Google Excellence Award.

Indira Gutierrez
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on Ergo and IN-CORE teams, database management and web development

Yong Wook Kim
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on Ergo and IN-CORE teams, GIS, Database Management

Jong Sung Lee, Ph.D.
Researcher
Senior Research Scientist, NCSA
Technical Lead of ERGO MAEviz platform
Email: jonglee1@illinois.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: GIS; transportation planning; regional science; data management

Chris Navarro
Researcher
Senior Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: One of the original MAEviz developers, on which ERGO is now based, an Eclipse Committer Open Source Developer

Nathan Tolbert
Researcher
Research Programmer
NCSA

Expertise: Developer on both the MAEviz - Harturk and Ergo teams, IN-CORE developer, Developer for Open Portal Interface Environment (OPIETM) for scientific portals.

Social Sciences Team

Sara Hamideh, PhD
Assistant Professor
Community & Regional Planning
Iowa State University
Email: shamideh@iastate.edu
CV/Bio
Walter Peacock, Ph.D.
Researcher & Team Leader
Professor, Director
Hazard Reduction and Recovery Center
Texas A&M University
Email: wgpeacock@gmail.com
CV/Bio

Urban planning, sustainability and resiliency issues, natural hazard mitigation, long-term disaster recovery

Lori Peek, Ph.D.
Director
Natural Hazards Center
Colorado University
Email: Lori.Peek@colorado.edu
Personal Webpage

Expertise: Social impacts of disasters; risk communication, vulnerable populations, long term disaster recovery

Shannon Van Zandt, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Director Center for Housing and Community Development
Texas A&M University
Email: svanzandt@arch.tamu.edu
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Social Impacts of Disaster, Housing and Housing recovery, nexus housing and business resovery

Yu Xiao, Ph.D.
Researcher
Associate Professor
Hazard Reduction and Recovery Center
Texas A&M University
Email: yuxiao99@gmail.com
Personal Webpage
CV/Bio

Expertise: Social Impacts of Disaster, Business recovery and failure, community recovery, and long-term disaster recovery